We have updated our cookie policy. Our website uses cookies to give you the best possible browsing experience whilst you’re here. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. To read more about cookies and how to manage them please take a look through our cookie policy.

Joe Farley Award

Farley was founded by Joe Farley more than 50 years ago. As an individual with a passion for antiques he started hiring paintings and furniture to the entertainment industry in 1962. Some years later, his son Mark took over and continued to run the family business, helping it to grow from strength to strength and expanding the stock to include all manner of beautiful objects.

After Joe Farley passed away in 1993, Mark set up The Joe Farley Award as a tribute to his late father, an artist himself, and to recognise emerging design talent. Originally in association with The Royal College of Art and now at its new home with The National Film and Television School, the award is run annually for first year students on the Production Design course.

Each year sees a different theme for a range of ‘money-no-object’ fictional productions for which the students must produce technical drawings and scale models. These are then presented to Mark, who is assisted each year in awarding a winner by a co-judge, who is an industry professional with years of experience. The winner then receives a scholarship for their second year studies.

The National Film and Television School is the UK’s leading centre for education within the film and television industry and their students and faculty are extremely talented. Every year sees new and innovative ideas and designs from the next generation, which offers us an exciting insight into what’s to come.

We are honoured to be able to contribute in some way to the future of an industry we feel passionately about and are so pleased to work with the NFTS to do it. We feel it is a fitting tribute to Joe Farley and are confident he would be as proud and excited as we are to see it progress.

This years’ guest judge was Paul Kirby (Captain Phillips, Bastille Day, Batman Begins, Kingsman: The Secret Service).

The entrants were Damian Galan Alvarez, Isabel Hervas, Celestria Kimmins, Ana Martinez Fernandez, Violet Elliot, Thomas Coxon, Mariko Umeda and Paula Giminez.

This year’s winning entry; Mariko Umeda, Goth Girl and the Ghost of the Mouse.